Search our content

Home  /  Newsroom  /  News Archive  /  2019  /  SHAPE Leadership Recognises Exceptional Performers

Apr 12 2019

SHAPE Leadership Recognises Exceptional Performers

SHAPE, Belgium - General Curtis M. Scaparrotti, Supreme Allied Commander Europe, and Command Sergeant Major Davor Petek, Allied Command Operations (ACO) Command Senior Enlisted Leader, hosted a ceremony for military members recognised as the 2018 ACO Military Members of the Year (MMOY) and recipients of awards and decorations at SHAPE April 10, 2019.  

Five participants received a NATO Meritorious Service Medal (MSM), an award signed by the Secretary General of NATO. There are less than 50 recipients each year, highlighting the significance of the NATO award. The NATO MSM, first awarded in 2003, commends staff whose personal initiative and dedication went beyond their duty to make a difference both to their colleagues and to NATO.

Each of you has served our Alliance with distinction

The MMOY recipients represent members from SHAPE and its subordinate headquarters throughout ACO, honouring the command's top member of the year in the following categories: junior rank, non-commissioned officer, senior non-commissioned officer, and junior officer. The programme implemented in 2013, recognises the superior performance and professional excellence for a rank in each category, signifying their contributions toward the success of Alliance operations. 

General Curtis M. Scaparrotti, Supreme Allied Commander Europe, provides his closing remarks during an awards ceremony at Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe, Belgium, April 11, 2019. The ceremony recognized members who have provided exceptional support to NATO. (NATO photo by Staff Sergeant Jimmie D. Pike)

"Each of you has served our Alliance with distinction. Your commitment to high standards, readiness, and the profession of arms is beyond reproach," said General Scaparrotti. "Thank you for your continued service and your unwavering commitment to excellence."

Twenty-four others received SACEUR Recognition Awards. The SACEUR Recognition Award recognises exceptional service and outstanding individual achievement by military members within ACO; it is the senior ACO award.

During the ceremony, Command Sergeant Major Petek highlighted the significance of this achievement. "These awards should not be taken lightly," Command Sergeant Major Petek said. "You have all displayed exceptional performance within your daily duties, showcasing a significant contribution to NATO. SACEUR and I are extremely proud of you and your achievements."

2018 MMOY recipients:

Junior Rank:OR-4 Noah Dillard (USA)

NCO:OR-5 Brunelle Maniere (FRA)

Senior NCO:OR-8 Ian McClure (USA)

Junior Officer:OF-2 Jason Loucks (USA)

NATO MSM recipients:

A4 Rob De Wolff (NLD), OF3 Christian Arendt (DEU), A2 Mark de Bat Doelman (NLD), OR8 Israel Carrera (USA), OR8 Morgan Caldes (FRA)

SACEUR Recognition Award recipients: 

OF5 Adam Edmunds (GBR), OF5 Salvatore Lombardi (ITA), OF4 Stefan Blech (DEU), OF4 John William Blocher (USA), A3 Peter Grocott (GBR), OF4 Valentin Maxim (ROU), OF4 Justin Cobb (USA), OF4 James Lafferty (DEU), OF4 Angelica Martinez (USA), Martyn Doney (GBR), OF4 Werner Hartwig (DEU), OF3 Marko Rudnik (DEU), OF2 Damien Rogovitz (FRA), A2 Ioannis Galatas (GRC), OF2 Mario Rocher (DEU), OR9 Giorgio Lanni (ITA), OR9 Antonio Ruiz Luque, OR8 Gregory Drault (FRA), OR8 Uwe Rentmeister (DEU), OR8 Laurence Basset (FRA), OR8 Michael Nelson (USA), OR7 Daniel Podest (CZE), OR6 Alexandre Crepin (CAN), B3 Chantal Degouis (BEL)

Story by SHAPE Public Affairs Office

Search our content:


Rue Grande
7010 Mons

Media Operations

Public Affairs Office
Attn: Media Section
7010 Mons