Search our content

Home  /  Newsroom  /  News Archive  /  2017  /  2016 Military Member of the Year

2016 Military Member of the Year

MONS, Belgium - General Curtis M. Scaparrotti, Supreme Allied Commander Europe, and Command Sergeant Major Davor Petek, Allied Command Operations Command Senior Enlisted Leader, announced the winners of the 2016 Allied Command Operations Military Member of the Year competition.

Nominees from SHAPE and its subordinate headquarters compete for ACO honors as the command's top junior rank, non-commissioned officer, senior non-commissioned officer and junior officer of the year.

The recipients for 2016:

Junior Rank: Leading Writer Christina Faulkner, Base Support Group Staff Assistant, Headquarters Maritime Command

Non-Commissioned Officer: Technical Sergeant Tara Labranche, Maintenance Operations Controller and Expeditor, NATO Airborne Early Warning and Control

Senior NCO: Sergeant First Class Jon Smith, Special Agent, Allied Command Counterintelligence

Junior Officer: Captain Joshua Withington, Deputy Current Operations Branch Chief and Information Operations Chief, NATO Special Operations Headquarters

The ACO MMOY programme was implemented in 2013, to recognise the superior performance and professional excellence of junior ranks, NCOs and junior officers, and their significant contributions towards the success of Alliance operations.

Search our content:


Rue Grande
7010 Mons

Media Operations

Public Affairs Office
Attn: Media Section
7010 Mons