Home  /  Operations  /  Capabilities  /  NATO Airborne Warning and Control System (AWACS)

NATO Airborne Warning and Control System (AWACS)

NATO AWACS play a unique role for the Alliance by conducting airborne early warning and control capability (C2).

The fleet is currently involved in assurance measures that followed Russia's illegal and illegitimate annexation of Crimea in 2014, as well as in tailored assurance measures to Turkey. In addition, following Russia's invasion of Ukraine in February 2022, the fleet is currently monitoring NATO airspace in order to assure and protect Allies.

The NATO E-3A Component is the backbone of the NATO Airborne Early Warning & Control Force (NAEW&CF) which is comprised of two components: the E-3A and E-3D aircraft. Fifteen E-3A aircraft are based in Geilenkirchen, Germany and at the operating airfields in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Norway. Six aircraft of the UK E-3D fleet are based in Waddington, UK.

To know more about NATO AWACS and the NAEW&CF, please check out their website here

Search our content:


Rue Grande
7010 Mons

Media Operations

Public Affairs Office
Attn: Media Section
7010 Mons